top of page

Vacation in Florida - Islands of Adventure (2 of 2)

We’re back at Islands of Adventure, and we’re on a mission to do more! Yea, no, that’s not how it worked out for us. The adventure continues to unfold below.....


Day Two - Tuesday


First of all we didn’t even get to the theme park until around 7:00pm. That’s night time by the way. But we’re just like “Hey we’ll do a couple rides and go. The park is open until 10:00pm anyways”. Big mistake. You can’t just do a couple rides because the wait times are RIDICULOUS. But here we are in line for the Skull Island: Reign of Kong ride. In my mind I’m like “We can’t keep passing up rides because the wait times are long. We’re gonna have to suck it up and wait them out.”


For me going to Universal was all about getting the most out of my experience and for me rides were my whole experience. So if I wasn’t on a ride then I wasn’t really happy.



Alright, so we hop in this 70 minute wait line, and we’re moving. It’s a moderate pace. It kept our morale up. There was something new each “holding area” but again you could never tell when the end was near. This time my entire family waited in line for the ride, but my youngest brother got too scared because the wait was creeping him out and so my dad left the line with him so they could go chill. All I will say is that the ride is like a 4D ride. No drops involved. Simply taking you on an adventure aligned with the movies plot.


Sidebar: Here is where I learned about the Universal Orlando Resorts app. It's a life saver guys. The paper map gets crumpled, you forget it, and there's no descriptions on it. On the app you can click each ride and get a rough idea about it. Oh, and the beautiful thing is you can see what the wait times are before you even get there.

Back to reality for a bit: After the ride, I took a mini photo op in Jurassic Park, we stopped by Harry Potter world again, and then jogged the whole way to the NBC Sports Grill & Brew for family dinner, in the rain, running through The Lost Continent and Seuss Landing because by now it's after 10:00pm and the park is closed.


In case you missed it, I talk about the NBC Sports Grill & Brew in my blog post about CityWalk.


Day Three - Wednesday was our off day, and Day Four - Thursday we completely explored Universal Studios.

Day Five - Friday


We’re back for one last go around! Today is the day to explore The Lost Continent, some more Harry Potter, and Seuss Landing! We started off with Seuss Landing. Now we got there I want to say around 10:00am. At first it was just my mom, my brothers, and I. So we walked through Seuss Landing and took advantage of some photo opportunities. Then we cruised into The Lost Continent - which I thought had two rides. I was wrong. They had two shows.


My immediate family and I went to see the Poseidon's Fury show. Let’s just say there was a lot of standing and moving from room to room. Great show and great effects though. Next, the rest of my family caught up with us and we all went to see The Eighth Voyage of Sindbad show at 12:00pm. To our relief we got to sit down and enjoy the show. Funny part was we sat in the splash zone. Great times guys. Great times lol.

My family standing in front of the Poseidon Fury entrance

After the show, we split up and I head back into Harry Potter world with my cousin and little brother to get on one last ride I hadn't checked off. Later we all meet back up with my family over in Seuss Landing. We ride The Cat in the Hat 4D ride and we get on the Caro-Seuss-el. Which wraps up our lovely time in the Islands of Adventure!


I think it's time to take a break from the theme parks and dive into my adventure on our off day!


What have you done to go #BeyondYourWindow recently? Share on social media with the hashtag, comment below, or send me a private message!

10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page