top of page

Vacation in Florida - The Arrival

Alright guys, so here I’m going to lay out the start of my vacation journey and overall background. First off, I haven’t been on a vacation with my family in 5 years; basically since I moved to Charlotte and started college. I was always constantly working to pay bills, or I was in school, or I was completing an internship needed for my major in order to graduate. I’d been on vacations with my boyfriend and friends, but my schedule never lined up with my family’s. This year that’s different. I’m a teacher so I have the summer off and boy let me tell you I am soaking it up.


So my mom tells me we’re going to vacation in Florida this year for 7 days, and during that time we'll have park hopper passes to Universal Orlando Resorts between the Islands of Adventure park and Universal Studios park. Also, that on our down day (Wednesday) we’re going to do a segway tour. Which I’m super amped up about because I’ve never done one before. To top it off some of my cousins from New York will be travelling down and vacationing with us.


Fast-forward to the week of my departure.


I decided to drive down to Florida myself. This was a big deal for me, and the determining factor was simply that my sorority was hosting our end of year celebration the same day my parents were driving down. So in order for me to skip the lonely drive down I’d have to skip our end of year celebration. Uh uh, wasn’t gonna happen loves.


Instead I woke my behind up at 8:00am the following day on Sunday, got dressed, packed my car up, and hit up a gas station as soon as I reached South Carolina. Which if you live in Charlotte, NC you know that SC is only like 30-45 minutes away. Oh and did I mention I turned on Black Girl Podcast for pretty much my entire trip?


Okay, so one of my biggest fears driving long trips is that I’ll fall asleep because I easily get bored with music. The other is that my back and legs will start to cramp up around hour 4 of the drive. Well, I’m happy to say that neither of those things happened. I utilized my cruise control a lot to take the strain off me pressing down on the gas pedal constantly. The other factor being that listening to the podcast, in my opinion, helped me focus mentally. I was exercising my brain while keeping up with their conversations, plus thinking about how their experiences connect to my own life.

Florida Welcome Sign
I used burst mode to get this perfect shot of the Florida welcome sign!

 
By the way…. If you don’t listen to Black Girl Podcast you should at least check it out. And start from the beginning for christs sake! Granted the last few episodes have been on point [inserts fire emoji]!!!!
 

All in all, I made it to my destination safe and sound - clearly because I’m blogging right now lol - a little worn from travelling, but super proud I was able to do it. Can’t wait to share the rest of my adventures because boy did I have a blast!


What have you done to go #BeyondYourWindow recently? Share on social media with the hashtag, comment below, or send me a private message!

14 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page