top of page

Vacation in Florida - Segway Tour

You guys I had so much fun doing this. So, if you haven’t done this before I highly suggest you do!!!! Let’s take a moment to discuss what exactly a segway is before we jump into my little double whammy of an adventure.


In case you forgot or you’ve never seen Paul Blart: Mall Cop back in 2009 - which you should look up and watch by the way. In the ugly boring definition way, a segway is essentially a two-wheeled motorized personal vehicle; consisting of a platform for the feet mounted above an axle and an upright post surmounted by handles.


Blogger Mosalinaaa standing next to her segway bike
Me on my second tour. More confident than ever.

Day Three - Wednesday


Story time! Wednesday was meant to be our slow day or day off from the theme parks, as you would know from reading some of the earliest posts. So to fill the time with something fun, other than the pool since the weather was wishy washy, we decided on doing a Segway tour. This was decided earlier on as a part of our agenda. I wake up this fine Wednesday morning ready to get the day started and figure out what time we’re going on our tour. I’m super excited because I’ve never done this before. Which is why I can get by on the fact that everyone else in my immediate family was all casual about it since they’ve already done it before.


Needless to say I go look on my handy dandy Groupon app to see if there are any deals on there for tours before doing a general Google search. Indeed I did find a deal with ZE Tours in Kissimmee, FL which is where we were staying. The deal, which had an extra few bucks off until June 27th, lucky for us, was:


70-Minute Guided Segway Tour of Celebration

  • For One: $34.00 (originally $60.00)

  • For Two: $66.00 (originally $120.00)

  • For Four $127.00 (originally $240.00)


There’s five of us so we ended up paying $161.00 total, basically using two Groupons. In case you missed it. I said for a 70 minute tour. That’s an hour and ten minutes. Most tours are for like 30 minutes. We got a hell of a deal, so don’t sleep on Groupon you guys.

 

Back to my fun.


Alright, we call and schedule the tour for 1:00pm, scurry to get dressed and over there to pay in person, and watch the safety video. Then we’re taken out to the back part of the shop where they go over brief lessons for beginners. It’s my family and another family of four all together for the tour. As a newbie I’m the first to get on. Y’all I felt like I was about to fall off trying to get on the doggone thing. Then I felt like I was going to crash every 2 minutes. My instructor Chuck has me go slow at first while he guides me with his hand on the rails, but I’m the one putting my weight behind it to get it to move. He has me practice weaving in and out of these columns they have on the back of the building to get a hang of maneuvering by myself. After which he has me practice braking and slowing down. That was my hardest one, and I’m sure I was simply overthinking it but you know.


At this point everyone is ready. We’ve got our helmets on and radios, so we can hear our tour guide, then we’re off! We leave from the shop and head to the strip (the freeway). Of course we stay on the sidewalk one behind the other. My mom and I take up the rear because she’s not as comfortable on it and I’m basically learning on the go. So we’re just cruising down the strip praying no one hits us as they exit the shopping plazas. Then we cross the strip! Of course we’re using crossroad walks. We keep doing down a ways and then we run right into Celebration, a small town in Florida. Our tour guide starts giving us background history on the little town and how it came to be. Not bad, but I was more elated by the ride itself.


My family on the first tour, at the second photo op spot.

We tour the small town, still crossing over streets, eventually heading down a park trail ending up in front of a lake where we take a break from the segways. We’re about 40 minutes in at this point. My feet hurt, clearly my converses weren’t the right match. My hamstrings hurt as well, but the joy of the whole thing is enough to keep my mind off of the pain.


Plus how else am I gonna make it back to the car?!?!?


After about 5 more minutes we circle around the lake to the other side and again take another photo opportunity - this time on the segways - before heading back to the shop and ending our tour. It’s about another 30 minutes just getting back, and by this time I’ve pretty much got the hang of things.


The whole adventure was fun and truly exhilarating. So much so that the next day, better known as Day Four - Thursday, we decided to do an early morning tour. Although quite sadly we did this one without my mom because the tour was exhausting for her. My dad, little brothers, and I went, and we left our tour guide, and fellow tourists in the dust!!!


Next up I’ll let you in on my exploration of Universal Studios and the time we spent there. Stay tuned.


What have you done to go #BeyondYourWindow recently? Share on social media with the hashtag, comment below, or send me a private message!

11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page