top of page

The Meg-Art Pottery Experience

Updated: Mar 23, 2019

Okay, so Meg-Art Pottery is a pottery place where you don't necessarily make the pottery itself you just grab a pottery piece that is already made and you paint it. Perfect for a date, a friends outing, or the little ones who love to dabble in the arts. The only thing you actually have to pay for is the pottery piece itself; not for the paint, the use of the tools, or the time that you're there - which actually has no time limit.


Essentially what you do is walk in and browse the pottery pieces ranging from small to large pieces. What makes a difference in the cost is how big or small the piece is that you're getting. When I went I chose a hand sized panda bear because pandas are my favorite. I didn’t want anything typical like a coaster or a mug or bowl. Figured I could save those type of pieces for like a double date or girls’ night outing. At first I thought about using my brand colors which are green and mustard yellow, but then I decided I wanted to use my blog colors which is this light baby blue and this creamy tan color. They look gorgeous together plus it was a perfect representation of another #BYWAdventure since I went with one of my friends.


All right enough about me.


So you grab your paint - however many colors you want to use - and you grab a small bucket of paint brushes, cup of water, and paint palette. Then you pick a bench to sit down at and paint away. By the way, the shelves where they keep the paint have examples of what each color looks like after one, two, and three coats of paints are applied; once your pottery piece has been fired and glazed as a finished product.


Right after I finished painting it!


Helpful Hints:

I recommend doing about three to four coats for a smooth solid color so it doesn't look like it has streaks through it. Just remember that whatever color you grab, when it's dried on the actual piece itself, it's going to look really light at first and that's okay because it's going to be a darker richer color when it’s finished. Also, as far as the design is concerned. To get those really complicated patterns and special touches you can write on your piece in pencil or even sharpie. The heat will burn anything away but the paint itself. For me I drew hearts on my pandas paws, and shaped its nose into a heart too.


When you’re done painting simply take your item to the checkout counter and they're going to have you sign your name and pay. Then they’ll tell you it’s going to take a couple of days before it’s ready for pickup. Easy as 1, 2, 3!


Hope you find some time to check it out for yourself!


What have you done to go #BeyondYourWindow recently? Share on social media with the hashtag, comment below, or send me a private message!

32 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page