top of page

The Eagle Guns & Range Experience

Updated: Mar 23, 2019


My ExplorHER events never have the same two people, and this months was no different. For September I had two new ladies join me from my own personal couples group, Abi and Kiara. I've known Abi over 5 years and Kiara for almost 2 so when they each RSVP'd for me event I was ecstatic. Not to mention this would be the first thing all three of us would be able to do something together.


Little background information

Abi and I are both familiar with the military. Her being in the National Guard and my past with me having served in the Army Reserves. So, we've both been on gun ranges and have both shot long range weapons before. I've even been to a different civilian gun range with my boyfriend for our 3rd anniversary, but I wasn't 21 yet so I couldn't shot the handgun just yet. Kiara on the other hand had already been to Eagle Guns & Range with her boyfriend and had shot a handgun but not a long range weapon.

New Venture Unfolded

The three of us all arrived within 10 minutes of each other. We walked inside and were immediately greeted and asked what we had come in for. We informed them that we had purchased two groupons to use for the range and it was our first time at the establishment. One of the employees then led us to a small room so we could watch an 8 minute safety video. After which, we each signed a waiver and received our "club card" that we could show everytime we come back to avoid watching the video again.


Next up we march over to the rental desk and try figuring out what we want. I'll be honest, my memory sucks so I don't know what brand of weapons we actually got. What I do remember is the three of us laughing and giggling. Probably annoying the hell out of the guy in charge of rentals. We knew nothing about handguns so we asked for his recommendation. Something with a small recoil. Since each of us were allowed to rent a gun we ended up getting two handguns and one long range. The long range was a close as we could get to an M16/M4. That way Abi & I could help Kiara out so she could at least try it out for herself. The rental guy went over how to load and unload the handgun. Making sure it's clear. Not to mention the most important aspect: there is no safety on it. Your trigger finger is the safety.


After the gun rental station we get assigned to two lanes. We can only have two guns on one lane at a time, but we the people can move between both lanes. The guns just had to stay on their lanes. Right before we get to go inside to the range we pick up earplugs, eyewear, targets, and ammo.

Girls, Guns, & Giggles

Shooting is fun for me. It had also been three years since I'd fired a gun. Kiara and I ended up on the same lane so that I could show her the ropes of using a long range weapon. After she got some practice in with that and I refreshed myself, we all moved around and took turns with the guns and targets. We shared most of the targets, but we also went back and grabbed more. They were only an extra $2.00 each anyways.


The girls and I had a blast. We took our safety seriously of course, but it's also an exciting experience. The adrenaline. The discovering something new aspect. The being awful aspect or "Hey! I at least hit the target" hysteria. We were there for nearly 3 hours. It's amazing how fast time flies when you're having fun!

 

What have you done to go #BeyondYourWindow recently? Share on social media with the hashtag, comment below, or send me a private message!


47 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page