top of page

The Candle Bar Experience



My latest #ExplorHER event was held at The Candle Bar - Charlotte. When I realized that their location was in Southend, same place I did my Baecation/Staycation last year, I realized I’d be running late because you have to find parking and that’s not an easy feat. Once I parked about 5 minutes away and made the trek past Pike’s Old Fashioned & Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream, called The Candle Bar because I couldn’t locate them exactly, not to mention I had to call again because somehow the door was locked and the people inside were clearly ignoring me trying to get in; I finally made it! Not the best first impression.


Power through all my morning mishaps. I am immediately checked in and asked if I was planning on joining anyone so that they could seat me properly. As far as I was concerned I was not joining anyone; so I was handed an apron and seated randomly next to a trio of young women, a couple, and a mommy/daughter duo. Not bad.


 

Let’s Get Started!

One of the first things we were instructed to do was to fill out a waiver and liability form; since we were going to be working with hot liquids like the candle wax.


After, one of the workers began going over all of the different vessels and their post candle use. How some people repurpose their candle vessel once they’ve burned the entire wax away. Some people repurpose it for tea pots, plant bots, cute decorative bowls for candy or loose pens or change. The best part was that the class covered whatever size vessel you wanted to get. We were instructed table by table to leave and go browse what was available on the wall. Every vessel had several colorway options, and I went with the largest option in white with a copper top — Glow 17oz.



Next up, we browsed the different fragrances —no mixing— and brought back the fragrance oil we wanted to use for our candle. I decided to go with Verbena Eucalyptus. I brought back both of my picks and sat at my station. We proceeded to label our candles with stickers on the bottom so they can identify which is ours and whether or not we planned to pick it up or have it shipped. Then we were given the amount of wicks needed for our candles. Some only needed one while others, like myself, needed three wicks. We took the stickies off the bottom and we placed them in the bottom of our vessel.


Warning: There’s a Little Science & Math Required

Here’s the fun and messy part. There are these kinetic scales on the table that require you to turn the knob in order to give them a little juice and turn on the power. We took the scale and zeroed it out after placing the measuring cup on it. That way we could accurately measure the amount of fragrance oil we were pouring into the cup. We had to pay attention to the sheet in front of us to law sure we were pouring the proper amount according to our vessel. Repeat this step when it comes to the wax as well. Just be careful when passing the large can of wax to the next person and yes it will drip onto the scale and the table. But don’t worry, there’s a towel for you for any messes you may make!



Once you combine the wax and the fragrance you pour the mixture into your vessel. Properly position your wicks and voila! You’re done. Let the candle sit for three hours and then come back later to pick it up. Hassle free.


I had a great time even though I was technically by myself. The tables are set up like community tables seating 8 people max. Remarks about the experience were made. I took a photo of the couple diagonal to me and the guy returned the favor for me. Three of the people at my table were teachers and we started talking about the past year. Whether we were lateral entry or not. Myself and the gentleman who took my picture actually started talking about which books we taught last year and which ones we planned to do for the upcoming year. Overall I really enjoyed myself.




 

Something to Note:

This time I uploaded the event details to Eventbrite. I figured a larger exposure would lead to more signups for my events. I was right about that but it proved some difficulties. First off, I couldn’t tell if people who RSVP’d for the event had actually gone on The Candle Bar website and reserved seats for the class. Then I realized I had no idea who these 4-6 people were who signed up and I had no instructions on where to meet up and introduce ourselves. Last, I didn’t know the age range for the people who RSVP’d. The events I hold are more so for my age range of 21-27. It was confusing for me, but hey, if someone saw the event and did actually buy tickets at the very least they got to go beyond their own window and get out the house lol.


 

What have you done to go #BeyondYourWindow recently? Share on social media with the hashtag, comment below, or send me a private message!



16 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page