top of page

My Lake Norman Experience

Updated: Mar 23, 2019


I don't think I've been this gleeful in awhile. I mean I was in complete and utter happiness in the water that day.


Roadblocks on Roadblocks

Let me start over from the beginning because getting to the lake was one of the hardest things to manage between the 6 of us in our couples group. First let me start off by saying that my couples group can't get our lives together. We tried for a couple weeks to get our schedules all aligned. If 5 of us were off 1 of use had to work a shift at their job. Then a stroke of luck hit us. A couple people requested off and came back to the group saying they had Sunday, September 30th off.


Now the gang is all set, we also have a few other people joining us to have 10 people total. This was important because with 10 of us ot made the price on $35.00 per person to rent the boat. We would be able to have the boat from 10:00am until 6:00pm that same evening. All day to have fun, drink, and swim.


That's not what happened.....

Just 24 hours before the event day one couple cancelled because of an emergency and another couple had prior engagements that they had forgotten about. So our crew was down to 6. With that information we decided against the boat day and settled on brunch.


Well, day of, my boyfriend and I got to the brunch spot and were made aware that without a 48 hour cancellation our friends card was gonna be charged the entire amount of the boat. Mind you it's 12:00pm at this point. As a group we decide to go, we manage to get some fill-ins, but we knew we had to rush. So everyone's running around heading back to their places to get swimsuits, alcohol, and food (we never did get our food). Then we drove all the way out to Lake Norman which is a solid 45 minute drive from where I live.


On the Lake Adventures

Now that we're all settled on the boat one of the guys gets behind the wheel and takes off into the middle of nowhere. He's just driving and driving with no destination in mind. Finally we decide on a spot to park in and we have a few mishaps. First one guy jumps off the boat and gets a leg cramp, so others have to fish him out. Then we discover there's a ladder in the back of the boat because we were all wondering how in the world were people supposed to get back up if they did want to swim.


Then we're all goading each other to get in the water but several people on the boat don't know how to swim. I on the other hand do, but I decide on a life jacket because treading water is exhausting. My biggest fear however was fish. I can't stand fish or really anything brushing up against me. It freaks me out. So I asked the others if they felt anything and they said they didn't Then someone told me that because the water or surface was warmer that the fish would go deeper in the water. I don't know if that's completely true, but I can tell you that I never once felt a fish brush against me!!!


Navigating Gone Wrong

One good mishap we had was that we were lost. We had driven the boat out far into the lake and even went around a couple of bends past dozens of lake houses. When we were ready to head back to the dock to pick up a few newcomers we realized none of us had truly payed attention to what path we took to get where we were. So.... I used my handy dandy car tracker! I have an iPhone and always keep my "parked car" tracker on. Helps me find my car in a large parking lot lol. Although the GPS wanted us to drive via land to get to my car we used our logic and upside down mapping skills to get us back to the dock.


It was hilarious.

All in all, I had a great time. I'm hoping we can plan again for next year and that everyone can be there as planned.


 

What have you done to go #BeyondYourWindow recently? Share on social media with the hashtag, comment below, or send me a private message!


26 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page