top of page

D.C. In December - Day 2 Adventure Wrapped Up

Updated: Apr 17, 2019

Now remember how I said on my DAY 1 account of the trip that “I think God has an interesting way of lining events up in our lives”? Well, after we finished visiting the National Museum of African American History and Culture we drove to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial that we missed on our Hop-on-Hop-off bus tour. I say it’s interesting because we missed it that day and ended up going to see it on what I’d like to call our “heavy” day.


I say that DAY 2 was heavy because it wasn’t all fun and games. We were looking at several memorials that kept you somber the entire day. There were times when I was looking at the exhibits in the museum and I would be angered and there were times were I would be proud of the people leading those movements. In addition, there were times when I would be inspired by viewing these activists and the accomplishments they had; and although I may personally not feel bold enough as them, I understand where it is that I’m most helpful in my role in moving forward in today's society and culture. I believe that as long as we’re doing our part that’s all you can really ask for from yourself.



On a lighter note, my mom and I left the city and headed back to our hotel, ate dinner, and took a much needed nap before heading back out to Zoolights a featured event at the National Zoological Park. I will go into more details about this in a separate blog post, but essentially the park is lighted up with Christmas lights and you walk around during the evening/night time. There are rides you can buy tickets for and food and drinks you can purchase while visiting. The entrance is free and of course the parking is not.



We got there right before 8:00pm - they closed at 9:00pm. Picked up our “date night” coupon book we purchased from Groupon and had ourselves a good time. The nocturnal exhibits are open and it was a nice switch up for us that day. Honestly, Zoolights is perfect for parents with younger children. They’ll love it simply because it’s after dark.


This concludes DAY 2! Next up is DAY 3 covering more of a half day for us because we also end up going home that day.


What have you done to go #BeyondYourWindow recently? Share on social media with the hashtag, comment below, or send me a private message!

3 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page